Apparently, I’ve Been Living Under a Rock.

elizabeth-kucinich.jpg 

If, right about now, you are asking yourself, “Who is this Celtic beauty with the flowing red hair and radiant smile,” you’re not the only one. You see, I asked myself that exact question when I first laid eyes on Elizabeth Kucinich. Kucinich? Kucinich . . . Kucinich . . .? Why does that name sound so familiar? Oh right! Dennis Kucinich! You know, the Democratic Congressman from Ohio, the one who’s challenging Hillary Clinton, Barak Obama, and the rest of the Democratic candidates for the presidency? Yes, that guy. Elizabeth Kucinich is none other than his wife.

See, you probably didn’t even know who Dennis Kucinich is, because he hasn’t been getting the kind of press a candidate of his caliber deserves. But it seems that having Mrs. K—I like to call her that because my last name starts with the same letter and I think it has a nice ring to it—on the campaign trail is paying off. The major networks are finally taking notice of Dennis. Of course, most of the time, they really only want to discuss his gorgeous, red-haired wife on the show but, whatever. Any publicity is good publicity. Search Youtube for Elizabeth Kucinich and see what comes up. I bet she’s getting more screen time than Dennis.

But seriously, I think Dennis Kucinich is the best of all the Democratic candidates. In fact, if the election were tomorrow—and if I could vote in this country, where I’ve lived longer than I did in the country of my birth but I’m not bitter or anything—I would vote for Dennis Kucinich. Would I vote for Dennis because he’s the tallest or best-looking candidate? Hell no! If a candidate’s looks had any effect on how I voted, I’d vote for Hillary Clinton. Hands down! And not simply because she’s the only female candidate and I’m the kind of guy who’s uncomfortable admitting that another man is good-looking. Not at all. I’ll prove it. Watch. I think Barak Obama’s good-looking. His chiseled jaw kinda reminds me of my own. And John Edwards? Does anyone have a nicer, more winning smile? Besides me, I mean? Anyway, I digress. I think Hillary’s FINE! I liked Hillary when she first came to DC and, 15 years later, I still dig her.

However, unlike the average voter, I’m less interested in how a candidate looks than I am in what she/he has to say about the issues that matter to me. Besides, as far as Dennis Kucinich is concerned, Elizabeth K (another of my pet names) has enough beauty for the both of them. But seriously folks, we need to move beyond looks. Let’s see where Dennis stands on some of the issues.

On Health Care:

  • If we talk about maintaining the present system, it’s a fake debate. (Sep 2007)
  • Challenge system of premiums, co-pays and deductibles. (Aug 2007)
  • Medicare For All: all long-term care totally covered. (Aug 2007)
  • Healthcare access is a basic right in a democratic society. (Jun 2007)
  • Half of all bankruptcies come from medical bills. (Jun 2007)
  • Universal not-for-profit health care. (Apr 2007)
  • Break the hold of the insurance companies. (Mar 2007)
  • Competition between insurers only drives up profits. (Mar 2007) 

On the Iraq War:

  • All troops out well before 2013, with no partition. (Sep 2007)
  • US army has civilian leadership; it’s not Patraeus’ decision. (Sep 2007)
  • Congress has the Constitutional power to end the war. (Sep 2007)
  • Biden Plan splits up Iraq. (Sep 2007)
  • Use $97 billion of Iraq funding to bring troops home. (Aug 2007)
  • November 2006 election meant Dems promised to exit Iraq. (Aug 2007)
  • Best way to support the troops is to bring them home. (Jan 2007)
  • Bush’s Iraq plan failed because it was predicated on lies. (Jan 2007)

On Immigration:

  • Promote Spanish as a second national language. (Sep 2007)
  • Build relationships between nations, not walls. (Sep 2007)
  • Sanctuary cities follow moral law if not federal law. (Sep 2007)
  • Stop blaming immigrants for our system of slave labor. (Jun 2007)
  • Roadmap to citizenship for immigrants. (Jan 2004)
  • Bush immigration program is indentured servitude. (Jan 2004)

On Foreign Policy:

  • If Darfur had oil, we’d be occupying Sudan. (Jun 2007)
  • Reject war as an instrument of foreign policy. (Jun 2007)
  • Americans have been misled about the Iraqi war. (Jan 2004)
  • Affirm intention to work with the world community. (Nov 2003)
  • Promote international treaties but reject global corporatism. (Aug 2003)
  • Lead world to sustainable energy production. (Aug 2003)
  • Foreign aid for peace incentives, not conflict. (Jul 1996)

There’s a lot more information on the voting records of Dennis Kucinich and the other candidates at http://www.ontheissues.org/default.htm. See for yourselves. Of course, Dennis doesn’t get his own link. Oh no. They’ve got him under “and others.” But here’s a shortcut to his voting record.

To be quite honest, not one of the other candidates’ policies align so closely and perfectly with my own views and attitudes. I, for one, do not intend to “hold my nose” and vote in the upcoming elections. Dennis Kucinich is a regular reader of this blog so I know he will read this. I am going on record here and promising my vote next November to Dennis Kucinich. Provided I can vote by then.

OK, gotta stay focused . . . gotta stay on message. Dennis Kucinich’s wife is beautiful. Smart too. At least I’m pretty sure she is. I muted the Youtube videos when I watched them, but from the way her mouth was moving in slow motion, I can tell that she was saying something really intelligent. Just kidding!!! JUST KIDDING!!! (I KNOW I’m going to pay for that joke). Elizabeth Kucinich IS really smart, and compassionate, and she has done a lot of humanitarian work in Africa and India, working to provide education and sanitation to some of the world’s poorest and most marginalized people. She even worked with Mother Theresa. She’s also staunchly anti-war, pro-environment, and generally just an awesome, intelligent person. Just like me. Which is why we both like Dennis Kucinich. In different ways, of course.

If a woman as intelligent, well-educated, compassionate, and well-traveled as Elizabeth Kucinich can see how great Dennis Kucinich is, why can’t the rest of the voting public?

It’s probably because . . . ooooh! . . . can’t finish thought . . . reality TV about to start . . . pizza guy outside . . ..

5 thoughts on “Apparently, I’ve Been Living Under a Rock.

  1. Ah, I see you picked up on the only flaw of my argument. His wife is ridiculously hot. Admittedly, he must have something going on. I have to concede that.

    Hmmmm. Red Heads.

    Like

  2. Hey Jesse,

    Your Photshop skills don’t give you the right to disparage the greatest presidential candidate of all time. 🙂

    If he were half the loon you make him out to be, why is Elizabeth with him? You can thank Dennis when you’re living in a country that’s not spending billions of dollars a month in Iraq, in which your kids have FREE health care, and where we send more people to college than prison. There’s more to this guy than meets the eye. Mark my words. He’ll surprise us all. 🙂

    Like

  3. Reasons I Wont Vote For Kucinich:

    1) His campaign represents a black hole for political energy. (Most of his proposals would be undone by the checks and balances of the office.)

    2) He believes in space aliens. http://www.yahoo.com/s/734705

    3) Globalization cannot be undone. (The 60’s occured 40 years ago. They’re not coming back.)

    4) The presidency cannot be simply granted to elves with magic wands. http://www.kucinich.com/kucinich/images/kucinich_mystic.jpg
    Small woodland creatures that run under the communist ticket will also be disallowed. (He has said he’s a strong admirer of Vladimir Lenin.)

    5) He has capitalized on racial fear to win elections in Cleveland.

    6) He’s been dubbed the ‘Shirley McClaine’ of the House Judiciary Committee.

    7) Willie Nelson is a strong advocate and endorser: http://www.monumentnews.com/2003/news/1016/kucinich%20nelson.JPG

    8) He said this at the 2004 convention: “”Spirit merges with matter to sanctify the universe. Matter transcends to return to spirit. The interchangeability of matter and spirit means the starlit magic of the outermost life of our universe becomes the soul-light magic of the innermost life of our self.” Uh…what?

    9) He couldn’t quite win the coveted roll on that mayberry show:

    And Lastly…

    10) Mr. Kucinich has threatened to announce that he’d threaten to impeach the greatest VP of all time, Dick Cheney.

    Like

Leave a comment