Dog the Bounter Hunter Thought He was Black, so It was OK to Drop the N-Bomb.

dog-bounty-hunter.jpg

Is this guy for real? Isn’t it bad enough for everyone that his own son caught him on tape using the word “nigger” like it was going out of stlye? I mean, you should have heard Dog in that conversation, dropping the n-bomb like his life depended on it. The way Dog was saying “nigger,” you’d think he was suffering from terminal cancer and God had just told him that repeating the n-word was a mantra that would miraculously cure him. Since then, Dog’s been touring the TV circuit apologizing for using the slur. If you ask me, he’s just garnering some much needed TV publicity for himself, since A&E took his show off the air—as far as I’m concerned, the sooner this racist jackhole is out of the spotlight, the better off we’ll all be. What next? A tell-all book? Please!

But I digress. The Superficial reports that Dog recently said on FOX’s Hannity and Colmes program that he had always considered himself Black, so he thought it was OK for him to say “nigger.” Here are his exact words:

In other words, my whole life I’ve been called a half-breed, a convict, king of the trailer trash, this and that . . . so when I stood there and said, ‘I kind of know what you feel like, because I’ve been there, too,’ that I felt that I could embrace and like, as brothers . . . say the word.”

“I now learned I’m not black at all, and I never did it out of hate. This sounds so stupid. I always did it out of love. Other white guys would be like, ‘Boy, who does Dog think he is? Dog can say that.’ And black guys would be with me and walk with me and respect me.”

“So, I went too far with that.”

Um . . . where do I begin? “So, I went too far with that” might go down in history as the understatement of the century. When Dog referred to his son’s Black girlfriend as a “nigger,” he definitely went too far. Way too far.

But seriously, what the hell is up with this “half-breed, convict, king of the trailer trash” nonsense? Did Dog seriously think he was Black just because he’s been called all those things?! It definitely DOES NOT MAKE HIM BLACK because Black people ARE NOT ALL THOSE THINGS!!! Is Dog out of his freakin’ mind? Is that really what he thinks Black people are? It’s offensive that he would look at his own sad life and then think, “Hey, I’m a f*ck-up from a f*cked up background. That’s what it means to be Black. I must be Black too.”

Well, I have some news for Dog. There are plenty of Black people—and I’m including myself—who’ve never been convicted of murder, who’ve never been to prison, and who’ve never seen the inside of a trailer park. Sure, for millions of people, it really sucks to be Black in America and, for a while, it sucked to be Dog, but he really shouldn’t think he’s Black just because he comes from a messed-up background. And, even if Dog were really Black, it’s still not OK for him to call any Black person a “nigger.” Far as I’m concerned, it’s not even OK for people who are ACTUALLY Black to call one another “nigga.”

I bring up “nigga” because I think Dog is in serious need of a quick lesson in pronunciation and context, so I’m stepping up to fill some crucial gaps in his knowledge. Some Black people, especially men, do refer to each other as “nigga.” You might not hear the difference in pronunciation but it’s there. Say it with me. “NIGGA.” “NIGGER.” Subtle difference in pronunciation, HUGE difference in context. Because when Black people use the word “nigga,” they usually mean it as a term of endearment. Of course, it could also be used as a term of disdain or criticism of individual Black people. Remember when Chris Rock said there’s a civil war between Black people and niggas?

“Nigger,” on the other hand, is a word used by people to denigrate, demean, devalue, and dehumanize ALL Black people. But more importantly, there are many, many Black people—again, I’m including myself—who DO NOT use the word “nigga.” EVER! Just because some Black people are ignorant enough to call each other a word that sounds an awful lot like a racial slur does not give Dog the right to use the actual racial slur!! And saying he thought it was OK because he thought he was Black is the most RIDICULOUS excuse I’ve ever heard from a White person for using the word “nigger.”

Here’s what I think Dog should say next time he finds himself in front of a TV camera and feels the urge to explain to the world how he’s not really a racist and how he really loves Black people:

I really regret having been caught on tape using a racial slur that everyone knows is deeply offensive to Black people and millions of other decent, sensitive, and well-intentioned Americans. There is no excuse for what I said. I sincerely apologize for causing offense to so many people. As a White man, I have no real understanding of how much pain that word causes to Black people. Nothing in my history or my family’s experience in America can compare to the violence, brutalization, and dehumanization that is associated with that word, nor to the painful memories it conjures up for Black people whenever they are called “nigger” by a White person.

8 thoughts on “Dog the Bounter Hunter Thought He was Black, so It was OK to Drop the N-Bomb.

  1. I LOVE THE DOG AND HIS FAMILY I THINK IT WAS WRONG FOR HIM TO BE RECORDED PEOPLE SAY THAT WORD ALL THE TIME BUT BECAUSE HE’S ON T.V LET’S MAKE A BIG DEAL OUT OF IT. I’VE WATCHED THE SHOW HE HAS NOT TREATED ANY RACE DIFFERENT FROM ANOTHER. HE CATCHES THEM AND TALKS TO THEM WITH RESPECT. LOVE YA DOG FAMILY

    Like

  2. Domone is stating the view of the atypical ” get on with life nothing to see here” attitude that I have come across quite a lot from white US citizens. It doen’t seems malicious but misguided. Well answered Abdul. If anyone suggested we should forget the attrocities of WWII they would be pounced upon; we should never forget the brutality and wickedness of the Black slave trade in America .and england

    Like

  3. Pingback: “Dog” the Bounty Hunter Gets His Show Back, Proving it’s OK to be a Racist. « T’ings ‘n Times

  4. Domone,

    I personally don’t know any Black people who say “honky” and “cracker” all day. I find those terms offensive as well. For the record, the person who commented that Dog is “a dumb ass honkey” is not Black.

    As for the power of words to offend, “nigger” has a particular connotation that is rooted in violence, brutalization, and dehumanization. To my knowledge, “honky” and “cracker” do not have the same connotation. However, I can take you, Domone, and tie you up in my basement, beat and rape you every day, and make you work for me without pay, all the while calling you “cracker” and “honky.” After a couple of years of this, I’m pretty sure you’ll start to understand why “nigger” is so offensive and why nothing Black people can call White people has the same power to demean and offend. After only two years of such treatment, I’m sure you’d be pretty offended and hurt whenever you heard “cracker” and “honky” too. The words by themselves are meaningless. It’s all in the context.

    Dog the Bounty Hunter is a racist, and his wanton use of the word “nigger” is offensive to any sensible person.

    As for Black people blaming White people for everything bad, I don’t know what kind of Black people you hang out with. I’m Black and I don’t blame White people for anything. In fact, I’m as well educated and professionally sucessful as most of the White people I know, and presumably more so than many other White people in America.

    So please, spare me your “get over it” lecture. Black people are not the one-dimensional, complaining caricatures you made them out to be in your comment. Intelligent, well-educated Americans—Black and White—are moving beyond this kind of simplistic thinking. You should too.

    Like

  5. I agree Dogs an Idiot. He only made shit worse
    with that lame as excuse. The only thing that bothers me is .A white person says somthing racist and theres an uprore, people are fired, shows are cancelled. But a black person can say honkey and cracker all day and no one cares. i guess we are just suposed to deal with it since black people have been persicuted an all. The only problem is slavery has been abolished .Segragation is in the past and racism is slowly fading. It’s time for black people to stop crying and making excuses for there failures.They blame there lack of education,Incarceration, drug problems , every thing on the white man. even Educated blacks like Bill cosby are tired of the bull shit. for years i heard blacks say how white people bring drugs to the ghetto. How about Frank lucas, Niki Barnes. Sold H to there own people and Imported it themselves. And most black people think that there heroes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

