“Unreservedly” Apologetic Dr. Watson Takes His Words Back.

james-watson.jpg

I know there were certainly people out there who jumped up and down in glee when Dr. James Watson said Africans are less intelligent than Europeans. Well, I hope you got all your celebrating out because Dr. Watson has now recanted, issuing the following statement:

I can certainly understand why people, reading those words, have reacted in the ways they have. To all those who have drawn the inference from my words that Africa, as a continent, is somehow genetically inferior, I can only apologise unreservedly. That is not what I meant. More importantly from my point of view, there is no scientific basis for such a belief.”

I guess the reknowned geneticist realizes how ignorant his own statements were. It’s a pity that he gave momentary vindication to all those racists out there who really believe that a person’s skin color has any effect on his/her intelligence.

I wonder if his suspension by both his lab and its board of trustees motivated him to recant.

4 thoughts on ““Unreservedly” Apologetic Dr. Watson Takes His Words Back.

  1. I can’t believe that this author consistently ran a very negative campaign against Dr. Watson. Why write this profile. It’s interesting as a Professional, but I wonder if in all my studies, how many authors, researchers, scientists, philosophers, medical experts, biologists, etc…, were as prejudiced as Dr. Watson.

    Like

  2. I stay as far away from the negro brute as I can. In 50 years of observation, I see negros as an inferior race, concerning intelligence. I know God put them here for a reason so it’s not ok to hate them. But again, I stay away.

    Like

  3. I think the comment on this article is clearly biased and lightly done. Any judgment on Watson can be made without reading his work, evidences and references would be unqualified and very unprofessional.

    In places where there has been no outside intervention, Africa (below the deserts) is still practically living in pre-history. On the other hand, they clearly do better in physical activities and have a more sophisticated sense of rhythm. Personally, I also have the impression they also tend to have certain advantage when it comes to improvisation, although I couln’t back that up.

    Even if Watson was misquoted, he did said that discrimination would not be useful. And even though black people might have a different type of intelligence, according to him, there’s no ground for denying many black people are way above the average white people. I believe, with a fair share of evidence, Obama, Garrett A. Morgan, Neil Degrasse Tyson, Martin Luther King, and the huge list that follows them are geniuses with little to envy to any white genius.

    If Watson said anything about laws towards black people (and was quoted right), I think that’s where he might be mistaken, though. A democratic capitalist country doesn’t need special laws for any race, if the person is smart he’ll make it, a prejudice would just risk the development of the next Obama.

    Like

Leave a Reply

