The Queen just cost me a cup of coffee!

One of the side benefits of working in downtown DC is that I’m near the White House and sometimes I see famous people (see my Jack Valenti post).

Well today, we got a call from a colleague from the street who told us the side streets off Connecticut Ave. had been blocked off because the Queen’s motorcade was passing through. If you hadn’t been following the news, Queen Elizabeth II is visiting the U.S. for the 400th anniversary of Jamestown, the first permanent English settlement in North America.

Anyway, I wagered a co-worker a cup of coffee that we would see the Queen, or at the very least a large hat.

We saw neither as the motorcade sped by.

This is why I don’t gamble. 😦

Leave a Reply

